Remembering the accomplishments of Steve Jobs

Posted on October 6, 2011

2



This is me.

To the left is my self-portrait. Yes, that expression has been stuck on my face for the past two weeks as I struggle to swim through seaweeds of…

  • midterms
  • my scary thesis project
  • my responsibilities as Honors Council Newsletter chair
  • depression brought about by a painful Boston Red Sox loss

…and oh so much more. Please note that “a social life” is not included in that list. Because, well….yeah.

Anyway, be prepared for much shorter posts for a while. When I find an article, video clip, photograph, etc. that I find interesting or outrageous I’ll post it and write a quick blurb about my thoughts on it. This will allow me to post much more often.

I would love to do a long, insightful post every day, but I do value my sanity. And plus, while my thoughts on a certain something are important, I like to hear what all you fishies think about it. So I encourage you to take a look at what I post and comment with your thoughts! Constructive dialogue is what we all need more of.

Today’s topic is about a man who shaped our every day lives…

Steve Job’s Mark on the World:

I’m sure you’ve all heard about the death of Steve Jobs. I’ll admit, before yesterday I knew very little about him. I didn’t even know he had cancer. He was always just “that apple guy”.

But while watching the coverage about Steve Jobs and his accomplishments, I looked down at my iPhone (named “Pinky“, if anyone was wondering about my iPhone’s name…) and realized that Steve Jobs changed our society in so many significant ways. He’s a man that I should know more about.

Because of this visionary man, the landscape of journalism has changed. iPhones and iPads allow people to consume news differently than ever before, and journalists have had to adapt to that change. It’s absolutely fascinating to me.

RIP Steve Jobs.

Posted in: Technology