It’s possible to entertain me after 11:30 p.m.

Posted on September 2, 2011

1



Very little captures my interest past 11:30 at night. A 14-page piece from The New Yorker that I have to read for Literary Journalism? Dear lord, do I HAVE to read it? Yes, yes I do. It’s my senior year, so let’s own this shit, I tell myself. Come on, Grace, plug through it and it will pay off. Think about how much better you feel when you come into class fully prepared!! You owe it to yourself to be the best student you can be!

I’ll just briefly scan it, I decide.

But I read the whole damn thing. Because it’s wildly entertaining. Even after 11:30 p.m. Who would’ve thought?

I encourage you to read it: My Fake Job. It’s a story written by a man who walks into a large office one day and decides to pretend like he works there. He sets up an entire fake job, complete with fake name and fake job title. It’s so cool, peeps. You’ll enjoy it, I promise. And it’s a quicker read than you think. Oh, and it’s hilarious. I can only dream of being that witty.

This is the part where you write a lengthy comment telling me that all I do is make you laugh. That I should not be so hard on myself. That I am the next Chris Rock.

Anyway. Tell me what you think about the story. Why did he do what he did? What point is he trying to get across?

In my opinion, he wanted to communicate how easy it is to be anonymous in this world, how easy it is to go through life without really noticing someone else.

It’s a freaLife in a Day Posterking big world out there. There’s more people than any of us can fathom. But nobody is insignificant. Everybody has a story. I think that often we all need to step back and remember that. We need to see people, not just look at them. We need to listen to people, not just hear them. We need to accept people, not just tolerate them.

I saw a trailer for a documentary film called “Life in a Day”. According to IMDB, it is “a documentary shot by filmmakers all over the world that serves as a time capsule to show future generations what it was like to be alive on the 24th of July, 2010”.

Seems to me like it is trying to communicate that no matter what, every life has importance. Because, in the end, putting aside all differences and barriers, we’re all human. We all matter.

Watch the trailer!

