I really hate blogging about Bill O’Reilly

Posted on July 20, 2011

4



I don’t know if I should do this post. Should I? I cringe just writing this post.

I would like to address statements made by Bill O’Reilly.

I think I’m getting sick.

The man is insane, I’m almost certain of it. Why should I waste my time blogging about an insane man? Does he deserve my attention?

Where’s the nearest trashcan??

I mean, he’s completely irrational. And is it even worth it to have a rational discussion about an irrational person? Do I want to take the time to pick apart what he says and highlight the stupidity of it when I’m fairly sure that he wakes up each morning and thinks, how can I anger a sensible person today?

Oh god…

In case you haven’t figured it out, Bill O’Reilly makes me throw up. Blogging about Bill O’Reilly makes me throw up, too. You know when someone tries really hard to annoy you just to get a reaction? And you try to ignore them and stay calm, but the frustration builds and builds and then you blow up at them? And then they smile, feeling content that they made you so angry? And then you get that icky feeling because you know you just lost that battle? Well that’s how I feel when I blog about Bill O’Reilly.

But I’m gonna do it. I’m just gonna give in.

Hold on…

I wrote a post a few weeks back in which I included a clip of Bill O’Reilly “interviewing” (more like screaming at) a guest whose father died in the 9/11 attacks.

O’Reilly claims in this segment that he has done more for the victims of 9/11 than the guest would ever do.

So, it’s safe to say that O’Reilly “cares” about those affected by the 9/11 attacks.

HOWEVER…O’Reilly said on his show recently that the phone hacking scandal was being overhyped.

“You have the New York Times absolutely running wild with the story.  Front page, front page, front page. Column, column, column. Vicious stuff, vicious stuff. And it’s all ideological, is it not?”

O’REALLY??

(See what I did there!?!)

Let me remind everyone that this little “over-hyped” phone hacking scandal included the phone hacking of 9/11 victims! But does O’Reilly get all riled up about this? Nope. He defends News Corp, which…OH YEAH…is his employer.

You know, I wonder…if it were, say, New York Times employees that phone hacked 9/11 victims, would Bill O’Reilly defend THEM? Something tells me no.

Here’s the clip where O’Reilly rants about this “over-hyped scandal”:

No Bill, let’s not make a big deal about a total breach of ethics in journalism. Let’s not address the issue of media accountability and transparency and boundaries. Let’s not bring to light the fact that a media giant has been involved in scandal after scandal. Let’s just do a quick bit about this little mix-up and get back to your usual “fair and balanced” reporting.

One more time.

 

Posted in: Media, Politics