Sweet dreams are made of these

Posted on July 19, 2011

1



I found this cool article on Huffington Post about the 10 most common dreams and why we have them. I encourage you to check it out. I’m sure many of the dreams listed are ones you’ve had yourself.

Dreams have always interested me. They are one of the few ways to reach your sub-conscience. Try paying attention to your dreams more; you may come to find things about yourself and your emotions that you didn’t know. It’s not a science of course, but I think dreams are more meaningful than people realize.

The movie “Inception” explores the theme of dreams and puts a creative spin on it. I don’t think I could explain it all that well, so just watch the trailer to get an idea of what it’s about (and just because the trailer is mega bad-ass):

If you haven’t seen the movie, watch it. It’s one of my favorites.

One part of the movie that’s pretty cool is when the main character Cobb and the gang go to a place where you see a room full of people sleeping. The character Eames asks an old man there, “They come here every day to sleep?”. And the old man replies, “No. They come here to be woken up. The dream has become their reality. Who are you to say otherwise?”.

I like this quote because it brings up the question of dreams vs. reality. Do the two ever intersect? I’ve had dreams before where I somehow know I am dreaming and cannot wake up. It’s difficult to describe but I can almost feel my eyes struggling to open but they won’t. Eventually I do come to consciousness, but while I am dreaming and am aware that I cannot wake up, it’s very scary. But it’s kind of cool at the same time. Once my eyes finally open that is.

Being aware that you are dreaming, or feeling “awake” while you dream, is referred to as “lucid dreaming”. When I googled it, several sites came up about learning how to lucid dream. Strange stuff.

Here’s a clip from the Discovery Channel about lucid dreams and dreaming in general. It goes into how we dream, how dreams and memory are related, how famous scientists found answers to tricky questions through dream, and more:

All very interesting. So much mystery.

I will conclude with my favorite Inception quote (and I’m not sure why I like it so much…but I do):

“Dreams feel real while we’re in them. It’s only when we wake up that we realize something was actually strange”

Sweet dreams tonight, everyone 🙂

Posted in: Fun