Yeah, all I want is respect, respect, respect. Sorry?

Posted on June 29, 2011

96



R-E-S-P-E-C-T!!!

“All you want is respect, respect, respect”

That’s what I was told by a particularly nasty commenter a few days ago. Wow, what an insult right? That really paints ME as a monster. Gosh darn, I feel downright embarrassed over the fact that all I want is respect, respect, respect. I mean, if God catches wind of this….it’s the fiery pits of Hell for me…

Isn’t sarcasm fun?!?!

Yup, me and Aretha Franklin. We just want respect. Respect for everyone, no matter race or ethnicity or gender or religion or sexual orientation (“you effing hippie, you!”). Yeah, sexual orientation….there it is again. I’m not done with my rant. No, no, no…not even close.

I saw an article on CNN.com yesterday that I would like to share. It’s a column by David Frum, a conservative and former special assistant to a mentally-challenged cowboy named George W. Bush (who also served as president for some time…have you heard of him?)

The column is entitled “I was wrong about same-sex marriage“, and in it (can you guess?) Frum talks about how he was once a strong opponent of gay marriage, but has recently changed his tune on the subject. He writes:

Yet I find myself strangely untroubled by New York state’s vote to authorize same-sex marriage — a vote that probably signals that most of “blue” states will follow within the next 10 years.

I don’t think I’m alone in my reaction either. Most conservatives have reacted with calm — if not outright approval — to New York’s dramatic decision.

Why?

The short answer is that the case against same-sex marriage has been tested against reality. The case has not passed its test.

Since 1997, same-sex marriage has evolved from talk to fact.

If people like me had been right, we should have seen the American family become radically more unstable over the subsequent decade and a half.

Interesting. Someone actually admitting they’re wrong. A conservative. About gay marriage. So. Let me get this straight. This conservative is okay with two people….of the same sex (did you get that? They’re of the SAME SEX!!)….getting married. Oh my god, the world is gonna open up and swallow us whole…oh wait. Everything’s JUST FINE.

Why can’t more people do that? Admit their wrong? Seriously, at this very moment…there are gay couples out there….married….maybe raising children. And…are you okay? Are you still living your life as normal? My guess is YEAH.

I’ll never get why people have such a problem with, and such a fear of gay people (cause ultimately, it’s fear…fear of someone who doesn’t fit the mold you are used to). Creed here, from The Office, has no problem with homosexuality:

Haha. Thanks Creed.

And I will never get why some people are so intent on preventing them from marrying. Think about it – it was once considered “wrong” for a black person and a white person to be together. Now we just see that as ridiculous. OF COURSE couples can be interracial! But it’s “wrong” for two people of the same sex to be together? Really? When all they want to do is express their love through a formal commitment ceremony? When they just want to be treated as regular humans?

And they ARE regular humans. They are able to function just fine in this society!! When they’re not being brutally discriminated against, that is. How could we say to someone who owns a house, has a job, pays taxes, votes, and does all the daily things that everyone else does that they can’t get married? Just because of who they choose to love. It’s sickening.

It is my hope that people who are against gay marriage realize that gays DO deserve the right to marry, just like the columnist I mentioned above did. I hope that they remember that our very own country was born because of strong, determined people fighting for their rights. If we do not continue that fight for rights for all, we will be stuck in a very unhappy world.

I got together with a gay friend of mine recently. We talked about my post from the other day about same-sex marriage. He wondered what reasons the girl from the dining hall had for believing gays shouldn’t be allowed to marry. He didn’t understand it. We talked about the comments I got in response.

One commenter referred to gay marriage as a “heathen lifestyle”.

“All you want is respect, respect, respect,” this commenter wrote. “You want the gays to have all the respect in the world. That will never happen”.

My friend asked, “How does it effect anybody who I choose to marry?”

That’s a damn good question. How DOES it effect anybody?

