Time falls away, but these small hours, these small hours still remain

Posted on June 19, 2011

3



Anyone who is Facebook friends with me knows that I love good quotes. I’m constantly posting lyrics and movie quotes and TV quotes as my status. In fact, the title of this post is from a song called Little Wonders by Rob Thomas. I think that words can be extremely powerful, which is partly why I want to be a journalist. If strung together in the perfectly right way, they can convey our emotions or a message just right. Here’s a  quote from One Tree Hill that I love:

“Most of our life is a series of images. They pass us by like towns on the highway. But sometimes a moment stuns us as it happens. And we know that this instant is more than a fleeting image. We know that this moment, every part of it, will live on forever”

I went to visit my boyfriend this weekend. We don’t get to see each other all that often, so when we are together, we have to appreciate every minute of it. And make sure to have more fun than we can handle. We certainly accomplished that. On Saturday, we went boating/fishing with our friend and had a blast. It was my first time really and truly fishing, and as it turns out, I’m a beast at it. I cast that line like a monster (most of the time). And I caught two fish. Except they got away before I could reel them in. But I swear, had I gotten them, they probably would have been big enough to feed a small village. Here I am in action:

Be afraid fishies. Be very afraid.

Anyway, you’re probably wondering why I’m telling you all this. Well one reason is that I want to brag about my mad fishing skills. But also, my experience fishing relates to the quote above. Once it started getting dark, we decided to head back to the dock. My friend (who was driving the boat), my boyfriend, and I all stood together at the front of the boat and we jetted across the water, the wind whipping our hair back. It was a great feeling to be with two people that I love after a great day of fishing, flying across the lake at what felt like a million miles a minute, the boat bouncing over the waves. It was a real “I’m king of the world!” moment (which yes, I actually shouted at the top of my lungs). And then our friend said, look up at the stars. And we did.

And there was the moment.

It was a perfectly clear night and the sky was dotted with sparkling stars. Underneath all those stars, we were just specks in the universe. But I swear, looking up at that sky, we felt larger than life. And as I stared up, feeling the rush of the wind around me, I felt very alive. And just…happy. Truly happy. I knew I would never forget that moment.

I’m back home now, away from my boyfriend, and I miss him very much. And it gets difficult being apart so often. But then I think back to that moment, and even though it has passed, it’s still very much present in my mind. And I know that when things get tough I can close my eyes and relive it.

I’m so happy that I wasn’t texting or taking a bazillion pictures or worrying about how my poor hair was getting all messed up in the wind. Because then I would have missed the moment. And moments like those only come around so often.

