The coffee’s never strong enough

Posted on June 6, 2011

0



Hi, my name is Grace and I’m addicted to coffee. Admitting your problem is the first step to recovery. But I sure as hell don’t plan on recovering. I love coffee. And I’m a beast when it comes to coffee drinking. I drink it black. None of that cream and sugar stuff. That’s for wimps. As I write, I am drinking UC Bold, which is a strong Columbian blend. Yeah, call me an animal.

I’m fairly certain that without coffee I’d be a failure at life. I couldn’t see myself going to class or work or studying for tests or doing anything of importance without coffee. Once that caffeine starts running through my body, I feel ALIVE! No, it doesn’t matter that I got 6 hours of sleep. I’ve got my liquid energy, so I’m all good!

Okay, I’m going  to take a moment now to plug for my favorite kind of coffee: Kona coffee. I first had it in Hawaii, and I fell in love. Hawaii’s biggest export used to be sugar, but now they have switched over to coffee. It’s because their coffee is heaven on earth, to be quite frank! So for all you coffee lovers out there, try it. You’ll thank me 🙂

So, most of you are probably thinking that I’m some sort of freak. And I am, but that’s besides the point. The point is that I’m not the only coffee-obsessed freak in the world. There are many out there just like me. In fact, this commercial perfectly describes me and thousands of other people:

According to the Harvard School of Public Health, 54% of Americans over the age of 18 drink an average of 3.1 cups of coffee daily. And the U.S. spends $40 billion on coffee each year. That’s a LOT of coffee and a LOT of money.

So classy.

The American obsession with coffee is often referred to as the coffee culture. Coffee drinking has become more than the actual drink. It’s an experience, and Starbucks, especially, has capitalized on that.

Starbucks markets quite a bit to young people. College students often sit down in those amazingly comfy chairs with an espresso and study for that big exam. We catch up with friends while sipping on a mocha frap. And NOTHING is cooler than walking around with a Starbucks cup in hand.

So cool.

Historian Bryant Simon has written several books on the allure of Starbucks. Take a look at this article about his research: Historian studies Starbucks’s cultural implications.

It’s an interesting phenomenon which I’m certainly part of, and shamelessly so.

Posted in: culture