The woman underneath the meat dress

Posted on May 22, 2011

1



"I never thought I'd be asking Cher to hold my meat purse"

There is probably only one person in this world that would wear a meat dress. Yeah, you all know who I’m talking about: Lady Gaga. Even if you don’t listen to her music, you’ve heard of her – her wild outfits, her crazy stage performances, her unconventional behavior. She’s certainly not your typical pop artist (much like Ke$ha!). And if you don’t love her, you should. I think you’ll gain respect for her after watching this 60 Minutes clip of her being interviewed by Anderson Cooper: Gaga for Gaga

My main man Coop does a fantastic job of asking the right questions and getting to the heart of who Lady Gaga is. She brings up some interesting things about the art of fame, being yourself, and honesty.

On the art of fame:

“Part of it is getting people to pay attention to what you want them to, and not pay attention to the things you don’t want them to pay attention to”

While none of us are famous like Lady Gaga, I think we can still apply that philosophy to our own lives. We all want attention from people – but the good kind of attention, not the bad kind. I think, like Lady Gaga does, we CAN control how others view us and what they focus on. In my experience, the best way to accomplish that is to be confident. People are drawn to confidence. And if they see that quality in you, that’s what they will (mainly) focus on – not your bad hair day, not your fight with your best friend…but your smile, your determination in everything you do, and your certainty in yourself.

But there’s no confidence switch that’s easy to turn on. It takes time, effort, and practice to be confident. Fortunately for us, Gaga gives us some insight in leaving insecurities behind. She says to her fans during a performance:

“I want you to reject anyone and anything that makes you feel like you don’t belong”

And she tells Andy Coop about how she has left many of her childhood insecurities behind, and hopes to pass on to her fans that feeling of empowerment:

“You have the freedom to pull the superstar out of yourself that you are born to be. We are all born superstars”

That’s right, people. We are all superstars – Lady Gaga said so. So act like one! Stop worrying about what other people think of you, because then THEY are the ones that control your emotions. If you are always yourself, and you dress and behave in ways that makes you feel comfortable, then whatever others say about you won’t effect you…you’ll always be happy with yourself. And that’s a good feeling.

Part of being comfortable in your own skin is being honest both with yourself and others. Part of why Gaga has such a strong following is that she’s always honest with her fans, even when it comes to drug use.

“I smoke a lot of pot when I write music. So I’m not gonna like, sugar coat it for 60 Minutes that I am some like, sober human being cause I’m not. I drink a lot of whiskey and I smoke weed when I write. I don’t want to encourage kids to do drugs, but when you asked me about the sociology of fame and what artists do wrong — What artists do wrong is they lie, and I don’t lie…I built good will with my fans. They know who I am and I’m just like them in so many ways”

That’s a good way for all of us to live our lives. Nobody is perfect, yet we all spend so much time trying to convince everyone around us that we are. Not only is it tiresome to keep up that facade, but usually people can see right through it. If we were more honest about ourselves, even about our flaws, then we would feel better about ourselves. Because not only would we not be hiding anymore, but people would accept us as we are.

It’s kind of ridiculous how difficult and scary it is in this day and age to just be yourself. But it gets a whole lot easier if you are confident and honest. It worked for Lady Gaga… and it can work for you.

Posted in: Being Yourself