How sweet it is to love

Posted on June 26, 2011

36



I’m sure you’ve all heard, gays now have the right to marry in New York. As someone who has been good friends with a gay person for a long time, I am very happy to hear that. But I’ll never really understand why gay marriage is an issue at all. Especially in this day and age. I remember my sophomore year of college I was sitting in the dining hall for dinner with a group of friends. And I heard one of my friends (except she was never really my friend) say that she doesn’t think gays should be able to get married. I sat there fuming for the rest of dinner. I wish I had said something to her. All I could think was why, why, whyyy??? I also thought plenty of other things about her, which I won’t actually repeat in this blog.

I know all the reasons that conservatives give for why gays shouldn’t be able to marry: The Bible says so (okay, I’m confused…is the Bible our new Constitution?? Doesn’t our Constitution say equal rights for all? Oh, but the Bible says that marriage is between a man and a woman, so let’s follow that instead of the law of our land…yeah, okay), gay marriage undermines the traditional family, gays can’t raise children, and if we lets gays marry then people will start fighting for the right to marry cows…and rhinos…and dead people.

It’s way too tiresome to point out the flaws in each of those arguments. But I do want to say that I am baffled as to why any rational person would believe them. And especially a young person like the girl in the dining hall. MOST young people are becoming more tolerant of the rights of gay people. And I think it’s because we understand best that love is love. Period.

Love comes in many shapes, many colors, many forms. Love is pure, and it is inherently good. There is so much hatred and evil in this world. But true love is so powerful. We should be FIGHTING for love. But we are PREVENTING gays from expressing that love by denying them the right to marry.

Again, why, why, whyyy??? To love and be loved is one of the greatest things in this world. Love is what keeps us going. It is what makes life worth while. Why can’t we let gays love openly, through marriage? Is that really so bad? Will it really lead to an apocalypse? Will God really start throwing down lightning spears at us and flood the earth with lava because we are allowing two people who love each other and who happen to be of the same sex get married?

I just don’t get it –  why it’s such a big deal. Don’t we have bigger problems? There are so many people in our own country who are starving. There are so many abused children. There is so much violence. And we’re getting our panties in a bunch over whether gays should be able to marry or not? That’s pathetic.

If two people love each other and want to get married, let them. It’s that simple. Stop the drama show over the fact that they are of the same sex.

And finally, this is long overdue, but to the girl that I mentioned above: your statement disgusted me. I think you are narrow-minded and cruel for thinking such a thing. Get off your high horse and start respecting people more. You’ve obviously never had a real gay friend in your life. Because if you had, you’d know that they are human, just like everybody else. And they deserve certain rights, just like everybody else. I feel so sorry that my gay friend has to put up with cold-hearted…jerks (to put it NICELY), like you.